Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.
Navigation

FAQ > Game Play > Is EN PASSANT allowed?

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

Q: Is a colored pawn allowed to capture via en passant?

A: No.  En passant is not permitted in Sovereign Chess.  

The nature of chess movement on a Sovereign Chess board makes this rule of capture from standard chess too difficult to implement.  Further, en passant becomes largely unnecessary in Sovereign Chess because the movement of chess pieces changes, now migrating toward the CENTER of the board rather than what happens in standard chess, where pieces "cross paths" along board files.

Last updated on September 11, 2012 by Mark Bates