Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.
Navigation

FAQ > Game Play > Is the colored square I want to pass through, "blocked"?

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

Q: If I want to send one of my pieces onto (or through) a colored square, am I blocked from doing so?

A: It depends!

First off, is the other colored square occupied?  It doesn't matter whether the piece on the other square is currently being controlled by your opponenent or not - if the other colored square is occupied, then the normal rules of occupation apply ("Only one square of each color may be occupied at a time").  

Additionally, if the other colored square is occupied but is NOT currently under the control of your opponent, then the rules regarding "passing THROUGH an occupied colored square" no longer apply.  You still can't OCCUPY the square until other piece is removed.  

For example, if I occupy the red square, you are prevented from landing on the other red square.  You are also prevented from passing through the other red square.  Now, let's pretend that I occupied the red square using a green piece and I now no longer control the green army but the green piece remains on the red square.  In this second example, the other red square can not be inhabited but it can be passed through by pieces of both sides.

Simply saying this, if neither square of color is inhabited, you may pass through or occupy the square in question.  If it is inhabited (active or inactive), then restrictions apply.  If it is inhabited by an actively controlled piece, then further restrictions apply.

Last updated on September 5, 2013 by Mark Bates