Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.
Navigation

FAQ > Game Play > What color does my pawn promote to?

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

Q: Say that I start my game as the WHITE army and my army also controls the PINK army.  In the course of my game, I have a PINK pawn sitting on k9 and it crosses the promotion line, to rest on j9.  Does my pawn promote to a PINK queen?  Or a WHITE queen?*

A: You promote within the same color.  Your queen would be a PINK queen.

Pawns which move into the center 4x4 grid must be promoted to a higher piece. Normally, this would be a queen, rook, bishop, or knight, but this choice can also be a king, which constitutes a regime change, and is discussed in the "Regime Change" section on page 4 of the rules.

 

* "Queen" being the piece that I want to promote to.

Last updated on September 12, 2012 by Mark Bates